

## Hitchcock County Board Minutes



Hitchcock County Board of Commissioners

Trenton, Nebraska March 31<sup>st</sup>, 2020

An emergency meeting of the County Board of Commissioners of Hitchcock County, Nebraska was held at the Hitchcock County Courthouse Commissioner's Room, 229 East D Street, Trenton, Nebraska on Tuesday, the 31<sup>st</sup>, day of March, 2020 commencing at 3:04 o'clock p.m. Present via phone conference were Chair Paul Nichols, Commissioners Scott McDonald, and Ron Wertz. Present in person were County Clerk Margaret Pollmann, County Attorney D. Eugene Garner, County Assessor Jackie Drain, County Assessor Terra Riggs and County Sheriff D. Bryan Leggott. All proceedings hereafter shown where taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. The Open Meetings Act was available for review and Chair indicated the location of such copy in the room where the meeting was being held.

Chair Nichols called the emergency meeting to order at 3:04 p.m.

The emergency meeting was called to address the current COVID-19 pandemic situation and to consider suspension of public access to the Hitchcock County Courthouse. Attorney Garner advised as to action instituted by courts in the 11<sup>th</sup> Judicial District relating to the COVID-19 outbreak and as to Department of Motor Vehicle concerns as they relate to driver examinations. Extensive discussion held by those present relating to suspending public access to the courthouse.

Member Wertz offered Resolution #20-7 and moved for its' adoption. Member McDonald seconded the motion and after consideration the roll was called thereupon and the following members voted in favor of the motion: Wertz, Nichols, and McDonald. Said resolution having been consented to by a majority of all members elected to said County Board, was by the Chair declared passed and adopted. A true, correct and complete copy of said resolution is as follows:

## **RESOLUTION #20-7**

WHEREAS, the County of Hitchcock, State of Nebraska, hereinafter referred to as "COUNTY", is a duly organized political subdivision, existing pursuant to the laws of the State of Nebraska; and

WHEREAS, further in recognition of the fact that the counties in the State of Nebraska, Eleventh Judicial District, are or soon will be experiencing a COVID-19 outbreak via community transmission; and

WHEREAS, further in recognition of the fact that this state's highest public officials have recognized the severity of the global pandemic associated with COVID-19; and

WHEREAS, further in recognition of the fact that the Health Department has suggested precautionary steps to mitigate the spread of the illness, including avoiding crowds, "social distancing" and refraining from physical contact; and

WHEREAS, further in recognition of the fact that many people have chronic medical conditions like diabetes or HIV which make them exceptionally vulnerable to the severe consequence of COVID-19; and

WHEREAS, further in recognition of the fact that all efforts should be utilized to mitigate the exposure and spreading of the illness.



## Hitchcock County Board Minutes



IT IS THEREFORE RESOLVED BY THE BOARD that public access to the Hitchcock County Courthouse is suspended until further notice effective 4:00 P.M. C.T., March 31, 2020. Offices will remain staffed to accept phone calls and to schedule appointments as deemed necessary in order to perform their duties and serve the public accordingly. It is further suggested and encouraged that offices maintain a record documenting all face-to-face appointments specifically and including, name(s), date(s) and time(s) thereof.

PASSED AND APPROVED on this 31st day of March, 2020.

VOTING FOR THE MOTION: Paul Nichols, Scott McDonald, Ronald L. Wertz

ABSTAINING: None.

VOTING AGAINST THE MOTION: None.

The Resolution is hereby adopted.

Paul Nichols, Chairman

ATTEST: Hitchcock County Board of Commissioners

Margaret M. Pollmann, Hitchcock Co. Clerk

**SEAL** 

Member McDonald moved to adjourn the emergency meeting at 3:50 p.m. Member Nichols seconded the motion and the following members voted in favor of the motion: Wertz, Nichols, and McDonald. Motion carried.

Paul Nichols, Chair

Margaret M. Pollmann, Hitchcock Co. Clerk