HITCHCOCK COUNTY BOARD OF ADJUSTMENT

Trenton, Nebraska January 17, 2019

Pursuant to the adopted By-Laws and Rules of Procedure, the Hitchcock County Board of Adjustment met on Thursday, January 17, 2019 at 3:00 p.m. in the Community Room, Hitchcock County Courthouse, 229 East D Street, Trenton, Nebraska for its annual re-organizational meeting. Notice of the meeting was given in advance thereof by publication in the *Hitchcock County News*, the designated method for giving notice. Notice of this meeting was given to the Chair and all members of the Board. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the advance notice and in the notice to the Chair and the Board of this meeting. Agendas are posted on the County's website www.hitchcockcounty.ne.gov. All proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

Chair Jacob Miller called the meeting to order at 3:10 p.m. and publicly stated to all in attendance that a current copy of the Nebraska Open Meetings Act was available for review and indicated the location of such copy in the room where the meeting was being held. The roll was called. Those present were Alex Pollmann, Jacob Miller, and Paul Forch. Robert Brown was absent. Chair declared a quorum. Also present were D. Eugene Garner, County Attorney and Recording Secretary Margaret Pollmann.

Secretary Pollmann advised that Frank Stehno had resigned his position on the board due to health reasons. Volunteerism is an integral part of the success of our rural community. Frank's dedication to public service on this board as well as many others is truly appreciated.

The minutes of the January 18th, 2018 meeting were previously reviewed by the board and Miller moved to dispense with reading said minutes and to accept and approve said minutes. Forch seconded the motion and the following members voted in favor of the motion: Miller, Pollmann, and Forch. Motion carried.

The floor was opened for nominations for Chair for calendar year 2019. Forch nominated Jacob Miller. The nomination was seconded by Pollmann. There were no further nominations and Forch moved that nominations cease. Pollmann seconded the motion. The roll was called on the nomination of Jacob Miller for Chair for calendar year 2019 and the following members voted in favor of said motion: Pollmann and Forch. Miller abstained. Motion carried and Jacob Miller was declared Chair for calendar year 2019.

The floor was opened for nominations for Vice Chair for calendar year 2019. Miller nominated Paul Forch. The nomination was seconded by Pollmann. There were no further nominations and Miller moved that nominations cease. Pollmann seconded the motion. The roll was called on the nomination of Paul Forch for Vice Chair for calendar year 2019 and the following members voted in favor of said motion: Miller and Pollmann. Forch abstained. Motion carried and Paul Forch was declared Vice-Chair for calendar year 2019.

The floor was opened for nominations for Secretary for calendar year 2019. Miller nominated Alex Pollmann. The nomination was seconded by Forch. There were no further nominations and Miller moved that nominations cease. Forch seconded the motion. The roll was called on the nomination of Alex Pollmann for Secretary for calendar year 2019 and the following members voted in favor of said motion: Miller and Forch. Pollmann abstained. Motion carried and Alex Pollmann was declared Secretary for calendar year 2019.

There was no old business.

Under new business Chair Miller advised as to the 2019 Nebraska Planning and Zoning Conference to be held March 6th, 7th and 8th in Kearney, Nebraska. Attorney Garner advised that he planned to attend the Wednesday, March 7th session.

The next reorganizational meeting will be held on Thursday, January 16, 2020. The Chair may call a meeting of the Board of Adjustment at such other times as needed to conduct necessary business.

There being no further business, Miller moved to adjourn at 3:21 p.m. this date. Forch seconded the motion and the following members voted in favor of the motion: Pollmann, Miller, and Forch. Motion carried.

Jacob Miller, Chair	
Alex Pollmann, Secretary	