## HITCHCOCK COUNTY PLANNING COMMISSION

January 19, 2023 Trenton, Nebraska

Pursuant to the adopted By-Laws and Rules of Procedure, the Hitchcock County Planning Commission met on Thursday, January 19, 2023 in the Community Room, Hitchcock County Courthouse, 229 East D Street, Trenton, Nebraska for its annual re-organizational meeting. Notice of the meeting was given in advance thereof by publication in the *Hitchcock County News*, the designated method for giving notice. Notice of this meeting was given to the Chair and all members of the Board. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the advance notice and in the notice to the Chair and the Board of this meeting. Agendas are posted on the County's website <a href="www.hitchcockcounty.ne.gov">www.hitchcockcounty.ne.gov</a>. All proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

Chair Dustin Ladenburger called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. and the roll was called. Those present were Aaron Kolbet, Dustin Ladenburger, Tom Monnahan, Dustin Webb, Wayne Merrill and Austin Jensen. Chair declared a quorum. Also present, Recording Secretary Margaret Pollmann, County Attorney D. Eugene Garner and John Rundel.

Chair advised all in attendance, that a current copy of the Nebraska Open Meetings Act was available for review, indicated the location of such copy in the room where the meeting was being held and offered the following statement: It is the policy of the board that the formation of public policy is public business and may not be conducted in secret. The board conducts its business in accordance with the open meetings act.

The minutes of the April 12, 2022 meeting were previously reviewed by the board. Chair inquired as to any additions or corrections. Monnahan moved to waive the reading of said minutes, and accept and approve the April 12, 2022 meeting minutes. Merrill seconded the motion and the following members voted in favor of the motion: Kolbet, Ladenburger, Monnahan, Webb, Merrill and Jensen. Motion carried.

Chair opened the floor for nominations for Chair for the calendar year 2023. Kolbet moved to retain current officers, those being Dustin Ladenburger Chair, Dustin Webb Vice Chair and Wayne Merrill Secretary. Monnahan seconded the motion and the following members voted in favor of the motion: Monnahan, Ladenburger, Kolbet, Webb, Merrill and Jensen. Motion carried and Dustin Ladenburger was declared Chair, Dustin Webb was declared Vice Chair and Wayne Merrill was declared Secretary for calendar year 2023.

There was no old business.

Under new business the Commission was in receipt of five conservation easement referrals from the Hitchcock County Board of Commissioners.

The Commission reviewed each of the conservation easements separately as to conformity with Hitchcock County's Comprehensive Plan.

Member Webb moved to find that the following conservation easement conforms with Hitchcock County's Comprehensive Plan:

• Roger Kolbet CRP/General Pt. 19-3-31

Member Monnahan seconded the motion and after consideration, the following members voted in favor of the motion: Ladenburger, Webb, Merrill, Jensen, and Monnahan. Member Kolbet abstained. Motion carried.

Member Kolbet moved to find that the following conservation easement conforms with Hitchcock County's Comprehensive Plan:

• Lemoine & Agnes Knosp CRP/General in 17-4-33

Member Merrill seconded the motion and after consideration, the following members voted in favor of the motion: Jensen, Merrill, Kolbet, Monnahan, and Webb. Member Ladenburger abstained. Motion carried.

Member Merrill moved to find that the following conservation easements conform with Hitchcock County's Comprehensive Plan:

- Matson Farms LLC, CRP/CREP in 33-3-32
- Marjorie Brown CRP/General in NW1/4 NW1/4 3-3-32
- Marjorie Brown CRP/CREP in SE<sup>1</sup>/<sub>4</sub> SE<sup>1</sup>/<sub>4</sub> 3-3-32 & NW<sup>1</sup>/<sub>4</sub> NW<sup>1</sup>/<sub>4</sub> in 3-3-32

Member Webb seconded the motion and after consideration, the following members voted in favor of the motion: Ladenburger, Kolbet, Monnahan, Webb, Merrill and Jensen. Motion carried.

Attorney Garner advised as to concerns that have been presented to the County Board of Commissioners regarding placement of oil field tank batteries and his research on the same. Various county zoning regulations were reviewed. John Rundel, Chair of the Nebraska Oil and Gas Commission advised as to the agencies regulations regarding the placement of tank batteries. Discussion held on updating the County's Comprehensive Plan and the necessary procedures for doing so.

The next reorganizational meeting will be held on Thursday, January 18, 2024. The Chair may call a meeting of the Planning Commission at such other times as needed to conduct necessary business.

<u> </u>	pefore the Commission, Chair Ladenburg	ger adjourned the meeting at 8:34
p.m.		
Dustin Ladanhungan Chain	Wayna Mamill Camatany	<del></del>
Dustin Ladenburger, Chair	Wayne Merrill, Secretary	